Skip to main content
University of Wisconsin–Madison

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

The Liaison Committee on Medical Education is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as the reliable authority for the accreditation of medical education programs leading to the MD degree in the United States or Canada. In short, LCME accredits US allopathic medical schools.
Accreditation signifies that national standards for structure, function, and performance are met by a medical school's education program leading to the MD degree, as defined in the document Functions and Structure of a Medical School. Accreditation by the LCME establishes eligibility for selected federal grants and programs. Most state boards of licensure require that U.S. medical schools be accredited by the LCME as a condition for licensure of their graduates. Eligibility of U.S. students to take the United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) requires LCME accreditation of their school. Graduates of LCME-accredited schools are eligible for residency programs accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).
All of our required documents will be due December 1, 2017.
Louisa Zelm is the LCME Coordinator and Quality Improvement Manager. Dr. Elizabeth Petty, Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, co-chairs the LCME Quality Improvement and Steering Committee and is the Faculty Accreditation Lead. Deborah Biggs, JD, Senior Associate Dean and Chief Operating Officer, co-chairs the LCME Quality Improvement and Steering Committee and is the Administrative Lead.