The Biomedical Graduate Program Consortium at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health is made up of three programs that work collaboratively to tailor students' training to their individual academic and research interests.

The participating programs are:

You will apply and be admitted to one of these three degree-granting programs. You have the flexibility to complete a laboratory rotation and/or elective courses from the consortium’s other programs, if you choose. It is also possible to change to a different degree-granting program early in your academic career.


You will complete three one-month rotations during your first semester. You may complete all rotations in laboratories associated with your degree-granting program or you may choose to complete one of your three rotations in a laboratory associated with another of the consortium’s programs. At the end of the first semester you will join one of these labs, where you will complete your doctoral research.


Students attend their program’s seminars and are also welcome to attend other programs’ seminars.

Financial support

You will receive tuition remission and a competitive stipend, and are guaranteed support so long as you remain in good academic standing. Comprehensive health insurance is available at a minimal cost.


Apply separately to each program of interest. The application fee allows you to apply to up to three programs. If you apply to more than one program in the consortium, the programs will consult with one another during the admissions process. If you are interested in coursework and/or a laboratory rotation in other consortium programs but you do not wish to apply to those programs, you may indicate these additional areas of interest on your application.

View application information

Faculty and staff

Directors and staff

  • James Keck, PhD, director, Biomedical Graduate Program Consortium

Program directors

  • Anjon Audhya, PhD: Molecular and Cellular Pharmacology Program
  • Nathan Sherer, PhD: Molecular and Cellular Pharmacology Program (co-director)
  • Ian Bird, PhD: Endocrinology – Reproductive Physiology Program
  • Chad Vezina, PhD: Molecular and Environmental Toxicology Program

Student services coordinators

  • Kristin Cooper, MS: Molecular and Cellular Pharmacology Program
  • Grace Jensen, MS: Endocrinology – Reproductive Physiology Program
  • Mark Marohl: Molecular and Environmental Toxicology Program