The Medical Scientist Training Program sponsors a one-day symposium in the spring featuring an outside keynote speaker, oral presentations of student research, student poster presentations and activities to foster student-faculty interactions. The symposium is organized by the student Seminars Committee.

The keynote speaker is an MD-PhD physician-scientist with an active research program. The speaker is selected by MSTP students with guidance from the MSTP director.

2019 Annual Spring Symposium information

The 2019 MSTP Symposium will take place on Thursday, April 4, at the Wisconsin Institute for Discovery and will feature keynote speaker Tony Windebank, MD, from the Mayo Clinic Rochester. Dr. Windebank is a clinical neurologist and professor of neurology. He has a successful research laboratory that focuses on spinal cord regeneration, and he helped found the Center for Regenerative Medicine at the Mayo Clinic.

Check back for more information.

Previous MSTP Symposium speakers

Speakers over the past decade have included:

  • Dianna Milewicz, MD, PHD, Cardiovascular Medicine and Medical Genetics, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (2018)
  • Ben Ho Park, MD, PhD, Oncology and Engineering, Johns Hopkins University (2017)
  • Warner C. Greene, MD, PhD, Virology and Immunology, University of California, San Francisco (2016)
  • Helen Hobbs, MD, Internal Medicine and Molecular Genetics, UT Southwestern (2015)
  • Michael Yaffe, MD, PhD, Biology and biological Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2014)
  • Marcus Raichle, MD, Radiology and Neurology, Washington University in St. Louis (2013)
  • Erkki Ruoslahti, MD, PhD, Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology, University of California Santa Barbara (2012)
  • Lalita Ramakrishnan, MBBS, PhD, Microbiology, Medicine, and Immunology, University of Washington (2011)
  • Karl Deisseroth, MD, PhD, Bioengineering and Psychiatry and Behavioral Science, Stanford (2010)
  • George Daley, MD, PhD, Biological Chemistry/Molecular Pharmacology and Pediatrics, Harvard (2009)
  • Johan Stenflo, MD, PhD, Department of Clinical Chemistry, University of Lund (2008)
  • Martin Yarmush, MD, PhD, Department of Surgery, Harvard (2007)
  • Jeffrey Friedman, MD, PhD, Center for Human Genetics, Rockefeller (2006)
  • Vanessa Gamble, MD, PhD, Tuskegee University National Center for Bioethics (2005)
  • Evan Sadler, MD, PhD, Department of Medicine, Washington University (2004)
  • Christopher Walsh, MD, PhD, Department of Neurology, Harvard (2003)
  • Kit Lam, MD, PhD, Cancer Center and Department of Medicine, UC-Davis (2002)
  • Shawn Coughlin, MD, PhD, Cardiovascular Research Institute, UCSF (2001)