Skip to Content
Faculty and Staff Resources

Neurology Faculty Earn National Awards

Madison, Wisconsin - Four members of the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health’s neurology faculty have recently received awards for their research, teaching and care for patients with epilepsy and multiple sclerosis.


Bruce Hermann
Carl Stafstrom

Dr. Bruce P. Hermann, professor of neurology and director of the Charles Matthews Neuropsychology Lab at the UW School of Medicine and Public Health, won the American Epilepsy Society’s (AES) 2012 Service Award. Throughout his career Hermann has worked to improve the understanding, treatment, and behavioral and quality of life outcomes for children and adults with epilepsy.


The award, which will be presented Nov. 30, recognizes Hermann for his service in the field of epilepsy and long record of voluntary service to AES.


Another UW Health epilepsy expert, Dr. Carl E. Stafstrom, professor of neurology and pediatrics, received the 2012 Distinguished Neurology Teaching Award from the American Neurological Association. Stafstrom was recognized at the national level for his career-long commitment to education and accomplishments in teaching medical students, residents, faculty and more.


John Fleming
Thomas Sutula

Stafstrom, chief of pediatric neurology at American Family Children’s Hospital, has inspired a significant number of medical students who chose careers in pediatric neurology and has won numerous UW teaching awards.


Dr. John Fleming was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award for his outstanding service to the National Multiple Sclerosis Society during its National Leadership Conference Nov. 8 in Dallas. He is a member of the Society's Medical Advisory Committee. He has served on the National Society’s Clinic Committee and scientific grant evaluation (Study Section) committees, as well as the Wisconsin Chapter's Board of Trustees.


He was previously inducted into the Society’s Hall of Fame for Health Professionals in 2002 for volunteer work and for research in 2010. Fleming is exploring how probiotic organisms change the immune response in people with MS based on the hygiene hypothesis. His study has been featured in the New York Times and ABC News. Additionally, he treats about a thousand MS patients at the MS clinic at University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics.


A third UW epileptologist, Dr. Thomas P. Sutula, chair of neurology, received AES’s top prize, the William G. Lennox Award, for pioneering research into mechanisms underlying seizure activity in the brain in 2009. Sutula is the Detling professor of neurology at the UW School of Medicine and Public Health.

Date Published: 12/05/2012

News tag(s):  facultyawardsthomas p sutulabruce p hermanncarl e stafstromjohn o flemingneurologyneurosciences

News RSS Feed

Neurology Faculty Earn National Awards

Last updated: 02/05/2015
Website Feedback
Copyright © 2017 University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms and conditions