Skip to Content
Faculty and Staff Resources

Dr. K. Craig Kent Named Director of American Board of Surgery

Madison, Wisconsin - Dr. K. Craig Kent, chair of surgery at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, has been named to a six-year term as a director for the American Board of Surgery (ABS), the national certifying body for general surgeons and related specialists.


K. Craig KentDr. Kent is A.R. Curreri Professor of Surgery at the UW School of Medicine and Public Health. He completed medical school and residency at the University of California - San Francisco and a fellowship in Vascular Surgery at Brigham and Women's Hospital. Dr. Kent is past president of the Society for Vascular Surgery (SVS) and the current secretary-treasurer for the Society of Surgical Chairs.


He heads the UW Department of Surgery, which with more than 90 surgeons, is a leader in surgical tertiary and quaternary care for Wisconsin and the surrounding region. Dr. Kent has a busy clinical practice dedicated to the treatment of vascular disease and has published almost 300 articles on surgery, research and surgical education.


The American Board of Surgery is an independent, nonprofit organization founded in 1937 for the purpose of certifying individuals who have met a defined standard of education, training and knowledge in the field of surgery. The ABS offers board certification in general surgery, vascular surgery, pediatric surgery, surgical critical care, surgery of the hand, hospice and palliative medicine, and complex general surgical oncology.


The board includes the most accomplished and prestigious surgeons in the country; approximately five individuals are selected for membership each year. The board is responsible for assuring the highest quality of surgical practice for individuals finishing training as well as surgeons in practice.


Date Published: 07/02/2013

News tag(s):  facultysurgeryk craig kent

News RSS Feed

Dr. K. Craig Kent Named Director of American Board of Surgery

Last updated: 07/02/2013
Website Feedback
Copyright © 2017 University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms and conditions