Skip to Content
SMPH Home UW Health Faculty and Staff Resources

Edward F. Jackson Named New Chair of Medical Physics

Madison, Wisconsin - Dr. Edward F. Jackson will become the new chair of the Department of Medical Physics at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health.


Edward F. JacksonJackson joins UW from the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, where he is professor and deputy department chair in the department of imaging physics and director of the medical physics graduate education program.


He received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Auburn University and his doctorate from the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston.


“The department of medical physics is internationally renowned as one of the first and leading programs of its kind,” said Dr. Robert Golden, dean of the UW School of Medicine and Public Health.


“We are delighted that Dr. Jackson will lead the department forward into the future. His outstanding record of achievement as a scientist, educator, and academic leader fits perfectly with the traditions of this remarkable department.”


Jackson has received numerous institutional and national awards and recognitions for both his research and teaching accomplishments, and he is a fellow of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM) and the American College of Radiology.


He has served as chair of the Commission on Accreditation of Medical Physics Education Programs (CAMPEP) Graduate Education Program Review Committee, and as a member of the board of directors of CAMPEP and AAPM.


Jackson will begin his new position on September 1, 2013.

Date Published: 04/30/2013

News tag(s):  researchradiologyfacultycancerquarterly

News RSS Feed

Last updated: 03/26/2014
Website Feedback
Copyright © 2015 University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms and conditions