Skip to Content
SMPH Home UW Health Faculty and Staff Resources

Three Faculty Members Elected as Science Fellows

Three University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health faculty members are among five UW-Madison faculty who have been elected as fellows to the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).


Selection as an AAAS fellow is a high honor conferred by peers in recognition of distinguished efforts to advance science and its applications. AAAS is the world's largest general scientific society. The tradition of naming AAAS fellows in honor of their achievements dates to 1874.


The 2012 fellows from the School of Medicine and Public Health are:

  • Ned H. Kalin, professor and chair of psychiatry, for distinguished contributions to the fields of psychiatry and neuropharmacology, particularly for discovering basic mechanisms that relate stress to developmental psychopathology

  • KyungMann Kim, professor of biostatistics and medical informatics, for distinguished scholarship and outstanding publication record in statistical methodology and collaborative science, service on committees, and leadership

  • Paul G. Ahlquist, professor of oncology and plant pathology, honored for significant contributions to the area of molecular virology, viral evolution, and pathogenesis.

New fellows will be recognized Feb. 16 at the Fellows Forum, held during the AAAS annual meeting in Boston.


View the full list of fellows

Date Published: 11/29/2012

News tag(s):  facultyawards

News RSS Feed

Last updated: 12/17/2012
Website Feedback
Copyright © 2015 University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms and conditions